A disappearing app called Confide self destructs your text message after being read sneaky right?
Reading the message on an iOS device requires your recipient to drag a finger across the screen to reveal each word. A read receipt is also sent to you once your message has been read.
After the message is closed, though, it disappears for both the sender and the receiver, which is the whole point behind the app. The messages themselves are also private and encrypted to protect them on their journey.
Swiping to read the message feels cumbersome, but the description of the app explains that swiping is required to prevent someone from taking a screenshot of the text.
In my testing, the process worked as promised. I sent a text message to another account. After I read and closed the message through that account, the message was no longer accessible.
Snapchat offers a similar feature, deleting your snaps after they’re read. But those of you not into Snapchat should find Confide a handy way to keep your messages private and protected.